Frequently Asked Questions

How old must I be to rent a boat?

25 years old.

Maine boating law stipulates that anyone born after January 1, 1999 has to take a boaters safety course in order to operate a recreational boat with a motor larger than 25 HP. The Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife offers an online boating course to complete your boaters safety education.


Reservations in advance are recommended so you don’t miss out. Same day drop-ins are welcome based on availability. Boat reservations can be made online or by phone with a major credit card to cover the required 50% total rental charge deposit. The remaining cost will be charged on your card the day of your boat pickup.

Daily rentals are from 9:00 to 5:00. You can arrive any time after 9:00 and your boat will be waiting for you. Regardless of your arrival time, your boat is due back by 5:00.


Yes, however reservations for half-days cannot be made online nor in advance. Call us the evening before or morning of your desired rental day to check availability and rates. Half days are noon to 4:00 or 1:00 to 5:00.

The cost for multiple day rentals is daily rate times the number of days. If you rent for 7 days, you pay the 6 day rate. The 7th day is free.

Yes, you can as long as you have a secure mooring or secure dock. We provide 2 dock lines on every boat. Ask us for a mooring line or additional lines if needed.

Yes, we do on a limited basis. We require a 5 day minimum rental and will deliver only certain pontoon boats to specific area lakes. We will deliver to Pleasant Lake, Tripp Pond, Crescent Lake, Parker Pond, Crystal Lake, Thomas Pond, and Range Pond. We do not deliver to Sebago Lake. We do charge an additional fee for transport to other lakes.

There are no public sandy beaches or places to stop and swim on Thompson Lake. There is a lake-side store called Pears that offers sandwich’s, ice cream, pizza, etc with picnic tables and docks to pull into.

Yes. We now offer renter’s insurance. After booking online, you will receive an email with options to purchase different levels of renter’s insurance to cover levels of liability and damages.

Yes. We simply ask that you protect seats from sharp claws and clean up extra messiness.

Your boat rental deposit will be refunded if the reservation is cancelled with advance notice of 2 weeks or more before the rental date.

Boaters are expected to honor the boat rental reservation unless inclement weather makes it dangerous to go out on the lake (i.e. downpour, thunderstorms, hail, high winds). For cool, overcast, or drizzly days boaters can still go out.

According to Maine law, a ‘no wake zone’ is an area within 200 feet of any shoreline, whether it’s part of the mainland or an island. When you find yourself in this tranquil region, you are required to operate your boat at a speed no greater than headway speed. Headway speed means the slowest speed at which it is still possible to maintain steering and control of the boat.

Yes, we provide infant and children life jackets. In the state of Maine, children 10 and under are required to wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket or life vest at all times while on a boat.

Yes, we allow fishing on our boats. We do sell night crawlers, but no live bait.

Yes, all our boats (except the Lund) have biminis.

No. Your boat will be full of gas when you pick it up and we will fill the tank when you return. You then pay for the fill, i.e. the gas you used.